History of NIEEE


The Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) was formally established in 1958 as an umbrella organization for the professional development of all engineering disciplines such as Civil, Electrical, Mechanical, Chemical, etc. This society was inaugurated on Sunday, 16th of February, 1958 in London, United Kingdom, and Mr. G.O. Aiwerioba was elected the President. The formal inauguration of the NSE in Nigeria took place in Abeokuta, Ogun State on Monday, 19th of January, 1959.

The objectives of the Nigerian Society of Engineers (NSE) as spelt out on her website are ‘to promote the advancement of engineering education, research and practice in all its ramifications with a view to maintaining and enhancing the professional capabilities of its members so as to better equip them to fulfill the needs of the profession for the good of the public and the nation at large’.

The Nigerian Society of Engineers presently comprises of various Divisions (Institutions) and several Branches spread across the length and breadth of the country.

In 1986, some notable Electrical and Electronics Engineers led by Engr. Dr. Olusegun Ajayi,FNSE, championed and pioneered the formation of the first professional Division: The Electrical Division.

Dr. Ajayi, now a Past President of the NSE, was subsequently elected as the first National Chairman of the Division.

On Thursday, 12th of October, 2006, the Annual General Meeting (AGM) of the then Electrical Division unanimously voted to change the name of the Division to ‘The Nigerian Institution of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (NIEEE)’. The name was approved by the Council of the Nigerian Society of Engineers in January 2007, making the NIEEE again the first Institution to be so recognized by the NSE (to be continued…)

Proud to be an Electrical and Electronics Engineer